Pecan Slices

I know I said I’d post new things weekly, but starting this blog yesterday just got me so excited about baking that I had to make something new!  But, my bouncy pup sprang onto my bed at about 6 this morning and demanded activity, so we headed out for a long run before the day’s heat set in.  Since Junior’s fur is so thick and dark, we get up around 6:30 pretty much every morning to run because he just gets so hot when we run during normal business hours.  Anyways, after running with him for an hour or so, I got back to my apartment and had no desire to leave the house again (I promise this story is relevant to baking….we’re about to get to the point!) and this lack of desire severely limited my recipe options!  I only had 1/4 cup of butter so had to pick a recipe that used only that much or less, which is not always easy to do.

But, if you’re in my situation, and you only have 1/4 cup of butter, you’re in luck!  As long as you’ve got a few other things on hand, you can make these cute little pecan slices!  Okay, cute might not be the right word–they’re not necessarily the most attractive things, but they taste good!

Image

They’re so simple: an easy dough layer with a thick topping of pecans and coconut, all topped off with a lemon glaze.  Sounds like a lot going on, I know, but they’re pretty delicious.

Image          How could you go wrong with a big pile of pecans and coconut??

And I think the recipe could be easily tweaked to make a bunch of different things!  I’m thinking about replacing the pecans and coconut with almonds and dried cranberries and switching out the lemon glaze for a chocolate drizzle!  When I get around to making that version, I’ll let you all know, because I like a little chocolate in most of my baked goods!  These were good though, and are great if you’re not a big chocolate person.  But really, chocolate is fantastic, so I’ll find a way to use it next time.

Pecan Slices
makes about 20 small bars

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups chopped toasted pecans (see toasting instructions below)
1 cup toasted shredded coconut (see toasting instructions below)

1/4 cup softened butter
2 tablespoons sugar
1 large egg yolk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup flour

2 large eggs
1 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/4 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice (I just used the juice of one lemon without measuring it)
1 teaspoon vanilla

To toast the nuts and coconut, preheat your oven to 325 degrees.  Spread the pecans out on a baking sheet and toast for about 7 minutes, stirring a few times.  Once they’re done, toast the coconut for about 7 minutes, stirring frequently (it’ll burn if you don’t watch it!).  Chop the pecans and mix with the coconut and set aside.

Then, up your oven temperature to 350.  Line a 9×9 pan with foil and grease the foil (I didn’t have a 9×9 pan, but being a math student, I just used the pan I had with the most similar surface area).  Beat together the butter, sugar, egg yolk, and vanilla until well combined.  Then, stir in the flour.  It looks like a lot of flour, but if you keep stirring it’ll turn into a pretty thick dough.  Press this evenly into the bottom of the pan and bake for 10 minutes.  While that’s cooking, beat together the eggs, brown sugar, flour, baking powder, salt, and vanilla.  When that’s nice and mixed up, stir in the aforementioned toasted pecans and coconut.  When the crust is done, spread this pecan/coconut mixture on top of it and put it back in the oven for 20-25 minutes.  I only left mine in for 20 and they might have been a little under done, so check the bars after 20 minutes and keep cooking until the top is firm.

While the bars are cooking, mix up the lemon glaze: combine the powdered sugar, lemon juice, and vanilla and whisk together.  Spread it over the bars when they come out of the oven.  Let them cool, then slice into small squares.

Image

But, since this is Baking with Junior, I can’t end this post without at least a photo of my favorite puppy!  Here’s him looking adorable as usual:

Image

2 thoughts on “Pecan Slices

Leave a Reply

