Banana Fig Muffins

I know my typical baked goods are cookies or bars or other sugar-high inducing deliciousness.  And I love them.  But, after Junior decided to destroy my roll of parchment paper, the cookies I was making for Wednesday were put on hold…

Image
He is SO PLEASED with himself….

I made the cookies eventually (recipes coming soon!) but while cleaning up the mess, I noticed I had two bananas on the verge of going bad.  I like my bananas a little brown but I’m not a fan once they’ve gone mushy, so I decided to make banana bread muffins!  Carbohydrates are pretty much my favorite food; as soon as something has the word “bread” in it, I won’t turn it down.

Image

I do try to be a little conscious of what I eat, though–most of my baked good are super sugary which makes them super fantastic, but every once in a while I do make an effort to bake something “healthy”.  I mean, I’m not about to make cookies out of beans, chickpeas, and carob nibs like some of those health nuts (which you probably know if you’re reading this–all of my recipes so far have sugar and butter) but when I’m making my breakfast staples, like granola or muffins, I like to have something filling, healthy, and not loaded with sugar.  I teach right after breakfast and crashing from a sugar high in the middle of a lecture would be no good!

So, long story short, these muffins have no sugar or butter (gasp!) but are still moist and quite sweet from my spur of the moment addition: figs!  In addition to the brown bananas, I had a bunch of figs from Trader Joes that needed to be eaten.  And figs naturally help out with digestion but it’s probably not good to eat them all in one sitting, if you know what I mean.  So, into the batter went the figs along with a little honey to make the perfectly sweet muffin.  But hey, it doesn’t hurt to top them with a little jam, if you’re into that sort of thing!  Also, if you don’t have figs just lying around, these muffins turn out well with applesauce taking their place!

Image

And, because the muffins are made with just a little whole wheat flour and are naturally sugar free, I decided Junior could try some and he loved them.  I had to hide them so he didn’t shove his little pooch muzzle on the counter and snatch them all up!

ImageI’m holding a small piece of muffin near the camera to get Jr to look in the right direction… Clearly he just wants me to give it over and stop this picture nonsense.

If you’re not into this whole healthy baking thing, don’t worry, I have another cookie and another bar recipe on the horizon, but if you want a nice breakfast muffin, give these a shot!

Banana Fig Muffins
makes 10 muffins

2 ripe bananas
5-ish small figs (this is just how many I had)
3 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons melted coconut oil (or any vegetable oil)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped almonds

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a standard muffin pan (or line it with cupcake liners if you have them).  Peel and break up the bananas and place into a blender or food processor.  Cut open the figs and scrape out the fruit into the blender, leaving behind the skin (you can eat fig skins, so you could probably skip this, but I just don’t like the skins and don’t know how well the skins would blend).  Add the eggs, honey, oil, and vanilla and puree until smooth.  In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon.  Combine the wet and dry ingredients, stirring until well-blended.  Fold in the chopped almonds.  Fill each muffin tin about 2/3 full and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of a muffin comes out clean.  Remove the muffins from the pan and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

If you don’t want to eat them all in a few days, these muffins freeze really well!

Image

One thought on “Banana Fig Muffins

  1. The picture of Junior with the waxed paper makes me laugh. Perhaps he wants to get in on the baking fun? I enjoyed the muffin we shared. It was quite good and I would not have known it did not have sugar in it. I think the figs are a super idea, I will have to try that. And as for adding chickpeas? You have given me something to think about. I might have to get creative this week! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

