Candy Stuffed Brownie Bites

Every weekend should be a three day weekend: two days of doing nothing, one day of getting ready for the week ahead.  Actually, who am I kidding–it’d be three days of doing nothing.  All of my motivation to do any sort of real work has just disappeared! 

Luckily for you, I don’t consider baking to be real work.  Check out these babies:

Image

They’re miniature brownies filled with a candy center and it’s a good thing I made them mini because THEY’RE SO GOOD. 

BUT!  Before you get too excited and run off to the store to make the delicious bites, remember how way back when Junior had a doggy photo shoot?  Well, even if you don’t, I’m interrupting this recipe to bring you the results of that great day–Junior is a little bit of a model dog!  Alyssa with Alyssa Rose Photography did such a great job photographing Junior and I obviously have to brag about how great his pictures turned out.  So, without further ado, I bring you Junior’s first photo shoot!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Junior is such a great little pooch model!  What a cutie.

Anyways, now that I’m done shamelessly advertising my dog’s adorableness, I’ll get back to the brownies.  I was in the store the other day and they’re already selling holiday-themed candy so clearly I had to get a bag.  Or two.  I picked up some mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and some Rolos and decided to mix them in some brownie batter and see what happened.  And let me tell you, magic happened.  I took an old, classic brownie recipe, spooned the batter into mini muffin tins, and stuck a piece of candy in each one.  As soon as they came out of the oven, they looked so melty and delicious that I dove into one and promptly burnt my tongue on the molten caramel center of a Rolo but it was worth it.  So worth it. 

But maybe if you make them, let them cool for more than 3 seconds so the caramel isn’t a burn hazard? 

Image
If you let them cool the caramel will set up and be even more delicious!

Candy Stuffed Brownie Bites
makes about 24 bites, plus a little extra

Ingredients:
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, roughly chopped
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 1/3 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla extract
3/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup flour
about 24 small candies, unwrapped (I used mini Reese’s Cups and Rolos, but feel free to get creative!)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease two mini muffin pans.  Combine the chocolate and the butter in a microwave safe bowl or a double boiler, and heat until there are a few chocolate chunks remaining.  Remove from heat and stir until the chocolate is completely melted.  (If you’re doing this in the microwave, do it in 30 second bursts, stirring after each.  Mine took about a minute and 45 seconds.)  Stir in the sugar.  It might look grainy, but that’s okay.  Crack the eggs in a small bowl and whisk lightly with a fork before adding them to the chocolate mixture, stirring well to combine.  Stir in the vanilla, then the salt, then the flour, until you have a nice, thick brownie batter.  Spoon the batter into the prepared pan, filling each mini muffin cup almost to the top.  Press a piece of candy into each muffin cup so that the top of the candy is at the same level as the brownie batter.  Bake the brownies for about 13-16 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the brownie part comes out with fudgy crumbs.  Mine went for about 14 minutes.  Let the brownies cool in the pan for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely (I used a spoon to remove mine from the pan).  If you have extra batter, you can either make more mini brownies or stick it in a greased mini loaf pan, filling it with whatever candy you like!

Image

I love chocolate and peanut butter, but the caramel-filled brownies won my heart in the taste test.  I’m not sure what made them better, but maybe the Rolos had a little more holiday magic than the Reese’s Cups.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Candy Stuffed Brownie Bites

  1. Rolos is a good choice but I think I would be partial to the Reeces bites. And Jr’s photo shoot looks great. I like how she did such a good job of photo shopping out any background so it is just him being Jr. I especially like the one where he is on his back, paws up. So cute! I won’t be showing these to Gryff as then he’ll want a real photo shoot too. Nice post as usual!

  2. Yum yum yum. Somehow I missed this when you originally posted it, probably because I was in Morocco. But I saw it today and I’m glad I did. My mouth is watering yet again.

Leave a Reply

