Oatmeal Jam Sandwiches

I’d like to take this moment to (finally) welcome myself back to the blog-o-sphere! About a month ago, Dan and I found the perfect apartment, packed up our lives (and the Junior dog), and moved into this wonderful place.

Facts I discovered while moving:

  • I have a lot of stuff.
  • Junior has a lot of stuff.
  • Junior enjoys removing things from packed moving boxes.
  • Junior HATES not only the vacuum but also brooms and cleaning products in general.
  • Our apartment was almost perfect, but not quite.

Actually, the apartment had quite the flaw for someone trying to maintain a baking blog–the oven had issues. It didn’t maintain a consistent temperature, it cooked at a super high temperature, AND set the fire alarm off the first few times I tried to use it. I burnt a few things before I finally figured out all of its issues.

But! I am happy to report that it is now cooking at a relatively consistent temperature and I am the new owner of an oven thermometer so I actually know what temperature it is inside that magic box.

Image

To celebrate my oven finally working, I made cookies for the SUPER BOWL!

I know, probably not the most traditional Super Bowl snack, but I also made guacamole and pico de gallo and other things and figured cookies would be easy to make, easy to eat, and not too likely to make a mess on our beige carpets! Plus, who doesn’t like cookies? Also the Seahawks WON so clearly they were the right snacks to make!

Image
Junior kept inching closer and closer to the cookies…

Image
Image
Fortunately, we bought him a Seahawks toy that was the perfect distraction!

This is one of those on-the-back-of-the-box recipes I found a while ago and have been meaning to make, but just never got around to. I tweaked the recipe slightly and it resulted in an absolutely perfect cookie! The oatmeal cookies has a subtle molasses flavor from the brown sugar and were delicious on their own but pretty much outstanding from the addition of the jam. I didn’t even make homemade jam–I was lame and used store-bought–but they were perfect! They remind me of oatmeal jam bars in a cookie form.

Image

The recipe is unique; instead of creaming the butter and sugars together, it calls for cutting the cold butter into the oats and flour and instead of rolling the dough into balls, it calls for rolling out the dough and cutting it with cookie cutters!

A few words for the wise: use a LARGE bowl for cutting in the butter because you’ll end up with a floury mess all over your counter if you’re like me and try to use an inappropriately sized bowl because you’re too lazy to wash a big one. Be sure to chill the dough (it’ll spread too much in the oven if you don’t) and cut the cookies into relatively small pieces–they spread a bit while baking and you’ll be sandwiching them in the end. Take the cookies out of the oven before they look completely done!

These cookies were a hit at our Super Bowl party and might actually hold the title of my new favorite cookie. I might make them again for Valentines Day, cutting the dough into hearts instead of circles!

Image

Oatmeal Jam Sandwiches
makes 30-35 cookie sandwiches

Ingredients:
2 cups flour, plus extra for rolling
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups oats
1 cup butter (2 sticks), cut into small chunks
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups lightly packed brown sugar
Jam of choice (I used raspberry preserves)

Combine the flour, salt and oats in a large bowl. Using a pastry cutter, two knives, or your hands if you’re anything like me, cut the butter into the oat mixture until you have a very fine, well-blended mixture. Dissolve the baking soda in the milk and stir it into the mix. Add the vanilla and stir to combine. Mix in the brown sugar and chill the dough for at least two hours or up to a couple of days. When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to 1/4 inch thickness and cut into shapes. I used a small (1.5 inch) round cutter. Chill the cut cookies for a few minutes before transferring them to the oven and bake for 5-6 minutes until the cookies are just beginning to brown on the edges. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 5-10 minutes until the bottoms are firm enough to transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely. When cool, spread a thin layer of jam between two cookies to make a sandwich!

Image

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Jam Sandwiches

  1. Oatmeal cookie awesomness! High Tech oven themo measuring gizmos! Seahawk toys for the Jr pup! Inventing a 75% efficient solar panel… close. Keep up the good work! LYDad

Leave a Reply

