Sugar Cookie Softies

Do you love sugar cookies?  But don’t have time to get out your rolling pin and cookie cutters and deal with fragile dough?

Well, my friend, I have an answer for you!

2014-02-14 07.44.28

Because of my fracture-induced limited mobility, I’ve had to take a temporary break from almost everything I love to do, which primarily includes running and hanging out with Junior.  (On a side note, because I miss my feisty animal, I’ve made a large collage of Junior and am in the process of convincing Dan to let me hang it up in our living room.

Image

Clearly that’s absolutely necessary.)

Anyways, I’ve spent my time catching up on too many TV shows and doing a lot of math.  Like enough math that I start talking to myself while I work.  Usually that’s the point where I crutch over to the kitchen and start baking something!  Dan is cutting me off because we have so much sugar in our house right now….

But look at these guys!  They were worth it!

2014-02-14 07.47.28

They’re so soft and perfectly chewy.  I found a recipe by Sally at Sally’s Baking Addiction for a similar cookie, and immediately wanted to make some.  I had some leftover buttercream frosting from decorating my sister’s birthday cake and needed a vessel to carry it.

2014-02-14 07.47.47

Enter the sugar cookie.  But, I tried these cookies both frosted AND unfrosted and really, they stand alone.  They don’t need a layer of buttercream spread on top.  (Which I guess just means I’ll have to bake something else that does!)  They get their perfect softie softness from a significant amount of leavener (both baking soda and baking powder show up in the dough) and some cream of tartar.  The leavener allows the cookies to puff up and rise to their pillowy form and the cream of tartar is a stabilizing agent, holding the cookie up after it rises.  Chilling the dough prevents them from spreading out into thin, crispy cookies, and underbaking them slightly (and allowing them to finish cooking from the residual warmth of the cookie sheet) prevents the bottoms from being hard and crunchy.  The end result?  The perfectly-textured cookie!

I knew I would eat them all if I left them at home, so I brought them to the Math Department to be enjoyed and they were gone before noon.

2014-02-14 07.45.26

Sugar Cookie Softies
makes 24 cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cream of tartar

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter until smooth.  Add the sugar and beat for 2-3 minutes until light and fluffy.  Beat in the egg and vanilla, scraping down the sides of the bowl to ensure everything is well combined.  In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cream of tartar.  Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, mixing on low speed until combined.  Roll the dough into 1.5 inch balls and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

After chilling the dough, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with a Silpat or parchment paper.  Bake the cookies, 12 to a sheet, for 6 to 7 minutes.  They’ll look underdone when you remove them but the edges should be set.  Let the cookies cool on the pan for 5 minutes and then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely.

4 thoughts on “Sugar Cookie Softies

  1. Very delicious looking cookie and I even learned something about leavening agents to boot. Awesome stuff! And of course your dog needs a collage of photos all over the walls of your place! He and Mr Gryff took your mother and Jake to the dog park to frolic in the snow this morning. Two of the four of the group had a great time!

  2. Pingback: Peppermint Brownie Ice Cream | bakingwithjunior

  3. Pingback: Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies | bakingwithjunior

Leave a Reply

