Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dog Treats

As my time on crutches slowly creeps by, I’ve started to miss my furry pup more and more!  Junior’s still happily frolicking with his pal, Mr. Gryff (my parents’ dog), but I like to think that he misses me, too.

So I sent my dog a care package. 

ImageImage

(As I write these things, I realize that I start to sound a little crazy and absolutely obsessed with my dog.  Which is not entirely false.  But, really, I haven’t seen my dog in a month!  That’s a LONG TIME!  What else was I supposed to do?)

I grabbed his favorite things and made some dog treats, filled with plenty of love for my little pup.  I sent them off to my parents along with a shirt that I usually sleep in–I figured that it would smell a little like me and Junior could cuddle up in it if he missed me. 

When the care package arrived, Junior was very excited about the shirt!  He sniffed it like crazy and wore it around his neck for a day. 

ImageImage

He and Gryff were also VERY excited about the dog treats.  Especially Gryffy…

ImageImageImage

…so excited that when my parents left them home alone, Gryff tore the tupperware containing the treats to shreds and ate the rest of them (and also most of the tupperware).  Silly Mr. Gryff! 

Image

Anyways, homemade dog treats are all natural and so easy to make (and so much cheaper that store-bought!) that if you have a lovable doggy in your house, give these a shot.  Pick some ingredients your dog loves and throw them together with some whole wheat flour, water, and egg in a basic dough.  Then cut out shapes and have your pups begging for their yummy treats!

Image

Junior loves peanut butter and pumpkin, so I combined those flavors to make his own customized dog biscuit!

Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dog Treats
makes 30-40 treats, depending on size of cookie cutter

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (pure pumpkin, not pumpkin pie filling)
1/3 cup natural, unsalted peanut butter
2 cups whole wheat flour
water

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, pumpkin, and peanut butter until well combined into a paste.  Stir in the whole wheat flour (I used my hands for this).  The dough is very dry, so knead it by hand and add a few tablespoons of water as necessary to get all the ingredients to come together.  Once you have a firm dough, roll it out on a lightly floured surface, adding a sprinkling of water if necessary to roll the dough to a 1/4-1/2 inch thickness. Cut the dough into your desired shapes and bake for about 30 minutes, until the treats are firm and relatively hard.  Cool completely before feeding to your dog!  Store in an airtight container for up to two weeks. 

Image

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dog Treats

Leave a Reply

