Rice Krispy Easter Eggs

Happy Easter, everyone! 

Image

Whether or not you celebrate Easter, you can definitely enjoy the chocolate and candy associated with it.  And Easter egg hunts are always fun, no matter how old you are! 

Image

Because I know very few small children, I didn’t have anyone to make Easter baskets for or go egg hunting with, but I do have Junior.  And you can bet that I did something Easter-related for him!  Did I make him an Easter basket?  No, although I thought about it.  But did I design him his own Easter egg hunt?  Yes, you bet I did. 

Image

I filled a few plastic eggs with different small dog treats and made him wait while I hid them around the house.  I’ve been teaching him to “find” treats I’ve hidden in the house over the past few weeks, so this was a perfect opportunity for him to show off his skills!  He definitely found all the eggs but was a little confused on what to do with them.  He finally tried to bite one, making it crack open, and figured out how to get all of his treats! 

Image

ImageImage

I know, I know, I spoil my dog, but he’s so darn cute that I can’t help it!

Image

(As a note of caution, if you design an Easter egg hunt for your pet, be sure to supervise them and remove the plastic eggs once they’ve gotten the treat!  I don’t want any poor pups getting sick from eating a plastic egg!)

For the humans in my life, I decided to make Rice Krispy treats shaped like Easter eggs and filled with m&ms.  Dan and I made them together, and even though I did a little more work that he did, we still had fun in the kitchen.  These are a great thing to make with family and friends because they’re gooey, a little messy, and a lot of fun!  Plus, Rice Krispy treats are one of the easiest things in the world to make, so it’s a win-win for everyone involved!

Image

I only made 12 eggs and put the rest of the treats into a loaf pan, but if you’ve got a bit more motivation, you’ll end up with a few more eggs than I did.  Once they’ve cooled and set, they’re a sweet, perfectly Easter-themed snack for the kid in all of us.  Happy Easter!

Image

Rice Krispy Easter Eggs
makes about 16 eggs (or 12 eggs and one loaf pan of rice krispy treats)

Ingredients:
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter
1 10.5 oz bag mini marshmallows (about 5 cups)
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 cups Rice Krispies cereal
1 cup m&m’s or other small candies
sprinkles, if desired

Find either an old egg carton or egg stand and set aside.  Coat the inside of a plastic egg (and a loaf pan, if using) with cooking spray.  In a large saucepan over low heat, melt the butter.  Once the butter has melted, add the milk, vanilla, and marshmallows and stir until the marshmallows have melted into a thick, gooey liquid.  Remove the pan from heat and add in the Rice Krispies, gently stirring until they are evenly coated with marshmallow.  Spray your hands with cooking spray and make the eggs: fill the bottom of your plastic egg with the mixture, then the top, making a small well in the top of the egg.  Fill the well with candy, then press both sides of the egg together, closing the plastic egg around the mixture.  There should be enough cereal in the egg for it to resist closing (most of mine didn’t quite close).  Once the halves have been pressed together, gently remove the plastic egg and set the Rice Krispy egg in the egg carton/stand to set.  Repeat this process until you’ve made as many eggs as you need, periodically respraying the plastic egg/your hands with cooking spray.  Press any remaining cereal mixture into a loaf pan.  If desired, cover the eggs with colored sprinkles.

4 thoughts on “Rice Krispy Easter Eggs

  1. So very cute!! Whenever we head down to our cabin, my son always invites his friend Dan to go with us. The very first time he came down to our cabin, I made rice krispie treats for the boys, and pizza logs. So, every time after that, whenever he would come down, I’d ask him what he wanted…and his answer was always pizza logs and rice krispie treats. Then one weekend, I forgot to bring the rice krispies… and I couldn’t make the treats. Oh, he was polite…but he’s never let me forget that weekend!! lol…
    I have to make these for Dan, just because they’re rice krispie treats and he loves them so much!!
    By the way… Dan is 18. 🙂
    I look forward to catching up on your blog… awesome post! And Junior? Adorable. Very photogenic!! 🙂

    • Haha! Great story! My boyfriend (also named Dan) is a kid at heart and hadn’t had rice krispies in ages, so I knew I had to teach him how to make them! And thank you so much for the nice comments–I’ve been reading your blog and it’s so much fun!

  2. You are just so crafty and creative. These look really good (rice krispy treats are always good!) can’t believe we never thought to do this when you were a kid! xoxo

Leave a Reply

