Blueberry Waffles

Normally, I’m all about the quick, easy breakfasts.  I’m talking yogurt and granola thrown into a bowl, scarfed down as I write my lecture notes for my class that day.

Image

But, every once in a while, I remind myself to slow down and smell the….syrup?  Bring on the waffles!

I love waffles in all forms.  I wanted to make something a little special, so I slightly modified this recipe from the Pioneer Woman and added in a few handfuls of blueberries.  P-Dubs has never steered me wrong before, and this time was no different.  Her waffle recipe yielded fluffy, fantastic waffles, but be aware that it makes SO MANY waffles.

Image

Which is actually not a problem at all–I broke the extras up into quarters and froze them individually.  When I’m feeling a waffle moment coming on, I just have to grab one and pop it in the toaster!

The recipe is easy enough, but it is a little more work than plain old waffle mix.  It calls for egg whites whipped into stiff peaks, which is definitely a challenge to do by hand (i.e. you should pull out your mixer!).  You also end up with some extra yolks, which isn’t a problem if you have a dog that likes scrambled eggs…

ImageImage

Blueberry Waffles
makes approximately 8 waffles, depending on the size of your waffle maker

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 1/2 cups milk (I used 1%, but any should work)
2 egg yolks
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
4 egg whites
1 cup blueberries (I used frozen)

Begin by preheating (and greasing) your favorite waffle iron.  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and cinnamon.  Whisk in the milk, egg yolks, and vanilla until partially combined.  Add the melted butter and whisk until fully combined.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg whites until stiff peaks form (I strongly recommend using an electric mixer).  Gently fold the beaten egg whites and blueberries into the batter.  Bake according to your waffle iron’s instructions, serving warm with maple syrup and extra blueberries!  Freeze any leftover waffles for later enjoyment.

Image

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Waffles

  1. Lots of blogging lately and little teaching? Your writing and baking skills are awesome but I hope they aren’t cutting into your office hours. Jr is looking at you like you are teasing him with the eggs in his bowl in this photo, cute but he certainly needs a haircut still. Good work!

  2. These waffles look awesome! Love the look of this recipe, it’s perfect for weekend brunches in spring and summer when I can get really great blueberries. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

