Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

In honor of my return to the blog, I’m starting off with my favorite, tried-and-true, best ever cookie recipe.

2014-05-01 07.46.15

I’ve been making these for years and am so excited to finally share the recipe! I made this batch of cookies for my fantastic brother Jake’s birthday (cookies are much easier to send in a care package than a cake).

2014-05-01 07.49.14

Anyways, for those of you that know me, you might know that Jake and I are twins, and he is one of my favorite people in the whole world. He is the nicest person I know, is super funny, and basically an all around great guy. He recently moved to Oregon so we mostly keep in touch via phone calls and snapchat, but everyone likes cookies on their birthday, right?

twins are the best!

twins are the best!

But, because Jake and I are twins, that means we have the SAME birthday! (Thank you, Captain Obvious…. I have a point, I promise!) Because it was my birthday too, I made a cake (recipe coming soon) and Dan got me a present, which brings me to my main reason for my blogging hiatus:

2014-08-26 15.49.49
IMG_0413

Meet Bear! He’s an approximately 1 year old shepherd mix, and Junior’s new brother. He’s 80 pounds of pure clumsy love. As much as I love him (and love being a two-dog household), the adjustment took some time. On top of school and my summer responsibilities, time got away from me. But, I’m back to blogging again and have quite the backlog of recipes to share with you all.

Speaking of sharing, here’s my cookie recipe. Something about these are magical–they have great texture and a perfect balance of peanut butter and chocolate. Wherever I take them, they’re always a hit!

2014-05-01 07.45.20

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies
makes 40 cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon corn starch
1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 bag peanut butter chips

In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the vanilla and eggs, one at a time, beating lightly after each egg.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, and corn starch to remove any lumps. Slowly add the a third of the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar mixture and gently mix to combine. Repeat twice more until all of the dry ingredients have been added, taking care not to overmix. Finally, add in both bags of chips and stir with a spatula until evenly distributed.

Roll the dough into balls, about 1 – 2 tablespoons each. Refrigerate the cookie dough balls for at least two hours (and up to a few days). When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat. Cook each batch of cookies for 8 – 10 minutes. The cookies will look underdone when you remove them from the oven. Cool them on the baking sheet for an additional 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

2014-05-01 07.44.56

Leave a Reply

