Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

If you read my last post, you learned that (a) I sent cookies to my twin brother for his birthday and (b) I got a new dog for my birthday! But, I didn’t really post anything about my birthday, including the recipe for my birthday cake!

2014-05-04 09.56.31

I’ve been making my own birthday cake for years and this year I scoured the internet for new recipes, but, as always, settled on a red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. It’s my favorite kind of cake so clearly appropriate for my birthday.

2014-05-04 09.55.24

I may or may not have consumed about half of the cake in one sitting, but that’s completely irrelevant considering that it was my birthday AND Dan and I took the pups for a fantastic bit of athleticism known as the Muddy Mutt Run. Running is not Dan’s favorite activity, and not really Bear’s favorite either, but they both happily ran around with Junior and I in the mud in honor of my birthday.

The Muddy Mutt Run takes place at a farm in Washington and it blends those exciting muddy obstacle races with tons and tons of dogs! They had set up various obstacles for the dogs to go through and at one point had a giant mud pit for the dogs to run and roll around it. It was dirty and messy but I thought everything about it was absolutely fantastic. I had a blast, and so did my crazy pups.

2014-05-03 11.16.55-2

2014-05-03 10.45.04

2014-05-03 10.38.50

2014-05-03 10.57.16

All around, I had a great birthday–I got a new dog, I got muddy, and I got red velvet cake! What’s not to love?

2014-05-04 09.53.18

Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
makes 4 9-inch layers

Ingredients:

For the cake:
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
2 oz red food coloring (I used standard liquid food color)
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 cups cake flour
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk
1 cup sour cream
1 tablespoon vinegar

For the frosting:
8 oz softened cream cheese
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 – 4 cups powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line four 9-inch round cake pans with parchment paper. Butter the pans and set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy (about 2 minutes). Add the eggs, beating well after each. With the mixer on low, add the food coloring and the cocoa powder. After a few seconds, increase the mixer speed to medium and beat for 3 – 4 minutes.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the cake flour, AP flour, salt, and baking soda to remove any lumps. In another bowl, stir together the vanilla and buttermilk. Alternate adding 1/3 of the flour mixture to the mixer with 1/3 of the buttermilk, repeating two more until all has been added. Add in the sour cream and vinegar, stirring one last time to just combine.

Divide the mixture evenly between the four pans and bake for 20 – 25 minutes (rotating the pans after 10 minutes), until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool the cakes in the pans for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

To make the frosting, cream together the cream cheese, butter, vanilla, and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer until fluffy. Slowly add in the powdered sugar until the frosting reaches the desired consistency. Frost the cooled cakes and enjoy!

2014-05-04 09.56.19

One thought on “Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

