Perfect Gluten-Free Brownies

Uhh, so, in case you’ve forgotten, I have a blog. I post recipes and photos of my dogs, remember? Maybe?? It’s been a while since I’ve been on here, but I’m back!

Photo Feb 01, 2 51 44 PM

And so are the pups: Bear and Junior! Bear is an almost 2 year old German Shepherd mix and Junior is an almost 3.5 year old husky/spaniel mix.

Photo Feb 01, 9 10 43 AM

Photo Feb 01, 9 10 35 AM

Full disclosure–I felt like I was lacking balance in my life, and in the process to regain it, I had to take a break from the blog for a while. But, I’m back now and have a brand new category of recipes to share with you all: gluten-free! As of last year, Dan is gluten-free and I’ve been eating mostly gluten-free along with him (it makes grocery shopping much easier!). I’m not entirely gluten-free, and still make plenty of things with good ol’ AP flour, but I have been experimenting with gluten-free recipes.

This recipe is one that I found/slightly modified from America’s Test Kitchen’s “How can it be Gluten Free” Cookbook. So far, most of the recipes I’ve tried have been pretty good, unlike the myriad of boring, average recipes I’ve used (I highly recommend the cookbook for anyone with a gluten intolerance). But, I also recommend getting it just for this brownie recipe. It’s actually completely worth it. It doesn’t have a weird texture or aftertaste or any other of the gluten-free recipe plagues I’ve found. They just taste like perfect chocolatey brownies.

Photo Feb 01, 2 51 20 PM

Photo Feb 01, 2 52 35 PM

Even without the cookbook, I strongly recommend the America’s Test Kitchen gluten-free flour blend. I’ve had more success baking with it than any other flour blends! And, you can find the ATK flour blend recipe on the web: check it out here!

Enjoy the brownies, and I hope to be seeing you all much more regularly!

Photo Feb 01, 2 52 15 PM

Perfect Gluten-Free Brownies
Makes 16 brownies

Ingredients:
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons ATK gluten-free flour blend
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum*
7 ounces chopped semisweet chocolate
8 tablespoons (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, cut into cubes
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon instant coffee
1 1/4 cup sugar
3 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla

Line an 8×8 inch pan with foil and spray with cooking spray. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour blend, salt, and xanthan gum. In a microwaveable bowl, combine the chocolate, butter, cocoa, and instant coffee. Microwave for 1 to 3 minutes, stirring each minute, until melted and smooth. Set aside to cool slightly.

In a large bowl, whisk until the sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Whisk in the chocolate mixture until well combined and the sugar has dissolved. Finally, using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, stir in the dry ingredients. Continue to stir until everything is well mixed. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and set it aside for 30 minutes.**

When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and bake the brownies for 40 to 45 minutes, until a toothpick comes out with fudgy crumbs. Let the brownies cool completely before cutting.

*Xanthan gum is essential to the structure of many gluten-free baked goods. If you omit it, things will have a weird texture.
**Gluten-free flours absorb liquid differently than standard flours do. The 30 minute rest allows the gluten-free flours to absorb the liquids AND makes the final product smooth and delicious. If you don’t rest the batter, the brownies will be gritty.

3 thoughts on “Perfect Gluten-Free Brownies

  1. These brownies are fabulous!!! I have made them twice now and can attest to their deliciousness. If anyone thinks gluten free is ‘yucky’ or think you can taste that they are gluten free – you are wrong. They taste like traditional delicious chocolatey brownies. You won’t be disappointed! Thanks for sharing Kristin….I just might need to make up some with the leftover ATK gluten-free flour we have! Great blog post!!!

  2. Pingback: (Belated) Valentine’s Day Sausage Risotto | bakingwithjunior

Leave a Reply

