Chunky Nutty Granola

I bought 9 pounds of yogurt at Costco the other day. Just for me. (What can I say? It was a good deal!)

After buying 9 pounds of yogurt, I thought I should probably make some granola.

Photo Feb 04, 5 27 41 PM

Photo Feb 04, 5 27 54 PM

Bonus: granola is naturally gluten free! As long as you buy certified GF oats, actually. Oats are often processed in gluten-processing facilities, so be careful.

I love big, chunky, not-too-sweet, crunchy granola, so that was exactly what I set out to make. It’s quick and easy to prepare, and way cheaper than store-bought! AND this makes like 9 cups or something of granola. Which is (maybe?) enough to go with my 9 pounds of yogurt. I suppose we’ll see about that though.

Photo Feb 04, 5 28 17 PM

Anyways, granola is delicious, and it you mix it with some yogurt and fruit, you have a breakfast of champions. Which happens to be my breakfast every day. Which must mean I’m a champion! (That’s how logic works, right??)

Also my pups are champions, if you weren’t aware: champions in the ADORABLE department! And, I got an instagram to shameless post pictures of their puppy perfection, so if you need a regular dose of puppy cuteness/silliness/nonsense, follow me: @kristin.and.pups (ahem ahem shameless self-promotion….)

Photo Jan 12, 3 09 49 PM

Photo Feb 03, 12 06 36 PM

Chunky Nutty Granola
makes about 9 cups

Ingredients:
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup lightly packed brown sugar (increase to 1/2 cup if you like it sweeter)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/2 cup vegetable oil
5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
2.5 cups coarsely chopped raw, unsalted nuts (I used almonds and cashews)
2 cups coarsely chopped dried fruit (I used cranberries and apricots)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a rimmed baking sheet or jelly roll pan with parchment paper. In a large bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, a vanilla. Once everything is well combined, whisk in the oil. Add the oats and nuts and stir together gently until everything is coated.

Turn the mixture out onto the baking sheet, spread it to the edges, and press firmly on the top with a metal spatula. You want to compact the granola so it forms a thick sheet when you bake it–this is the key to the chunkiness! Bake the granola for 35-40 minutes, until the top is light golden brown and the nuts are toasted and fragrant. Let the granola cool to room temperature (about 1 hour) and break it into large chunks. Stir in the dried fruit, and store in an airtight container.

Photo Feb 04, 5 28 44 PM

One thought on “Chunky Nutty Granola

Leave a Reply

