(Belated) Valentine’s Day Sausage Risotto

I haven’t posted a savory recipe since I started this blog, so I think it’s high time for me to start posting those sorts of things.  I do a lot of cooking (not just baking!) and I’d love to share some of my favorite meals!

I’m calling this “Valentine’s Day” Risotto because Dan and I were going to make it together for Valentine’s Day.  But that didn’t actually happen because I’ve been fighting off a terrible cold AND my family was in town because my sister’s birthday is the day after Valentine’s Day.

Photo Feb 18, 7 22 14 PM

I made my Gluten-Free Brownies for my sister’s birthday, and frosted them with an easy vanilla buttercream to make them extra special.

Because Dan and I missed out on Valentine’s Day plans, we decided to make risotto last night.  We love it because (a) it’s naturally gluten-free, (b) it’s delicious and easy to dress up/dress down depending on what you have, and (c) it’s a meal we can make together!  Risotto isn’t hard to make but just cooking the rice takes about 20 minutes of constant stirring, so it’s a good time to cook together and catch up on our days.

Photo Feb 05, 2 17 46 PM

The pups also like it when we make risotto because the house smells like sausage and beef broth!  Because I’ve been sick, they’ve been a little extra feisty with the lack of exercise.  I took them running and for a long walk in the park yesterday because I finally was feeling a little better and they very much appreciated it.  Also, Dan and I agreed not to get each other gifts for Valentine’s Day but he went above and beyond that to donate to the Seattle Humane Society AND get me the cutest Valentine’s Day cards from our puppies!  What a guy 🙂

Photo Feb 14, 7 42 58 PM Photo Feb 14, 7 37 39 PM

Anyways, this risotto is easy enough that Dan and I probably make it once a week, and we have leftovers to eat another night.  It can easily be made vegetarian (omit the sausage and use vegetable broth!) or modified to add in fancier ingredients.  It’s been one of our staples since Dan went gluten free!

Sausage Risotto
serves 4 – 6

Ingredients:
2 cups beef broth
4 cups water
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 lb mild Italian pork sausage (ground, or chopped links with casing removed)
1/4 cup white wine (whatever you’d drink)
2 cups arborio rice
1/4 – 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 – 2 cups steamed vegetables, if desired
salt and pepper

Begin by heating the beef broth and water until boiling, then reduce heat to a simmer.  You’ll need the simmering water to cook the rice.  Heat the olive oil in a large skillet or saute pan with at least 2 inch sides (to avoid spilling the rice as you stir it!) and add the sausage.  Cook the sausage until nicely browned on the outside.  After the sausage is browned, add the white wine, and cook until the liquid evaporates.  At that point, add the rice and stir until the grains are coated.  Begin adding liquid to rice/sausage mixture, about 1/2 cup at a time.  Each time you add liquid, continuously stir and mix the rice until the liquid has been absorbed.  At that point, add more liquid.  You must keep stirring the rice throughout the cooking process or it will start sticking to the bottom of the pan!  Continue cooking the rice like this for 20 – 25 minutes, until the rice is firm and chewy but no longer crunchy.  The rice will increase dramatically in size throughout the process.

When the cooking is complete, stir in the parmesan cheese, steamed vegetables, and salt and pepper to taste.  Serve warm with additional cheese!

Photo Feb 18, 7 22 22 PM

One thought on “(Belated) Valentine’s Day Sausage Risotto

Leave a Reply

