Bear’s Birthday: Pumpkin Pupcakes

My big brown dog is 2 today!  Happy birthday, Bear!

Photo Feb 21, 11 27 52 AM

Of course, that means I had to make him something delicious.  I settled on pumpkin pupcakes for my Bear because he loves pumpkin!  I also decided to make little mini cupcakes instead of a cake so that I could easily divvy them up between Junior and Bear and control how much they ate.  They were adorable, and I frosted some of them with plain Greek yogurt and topped them with a blueberry.

Photo Feb 21, 1 50 48 PM Photo Feb 21, 1 51 04 PM

Junior, Bear, and I went on a beautiful run to celebrate the day and my sister came over for a little Bear birthday party, complete with pupcakes and presents!  He got four squeaky yule logs (his favorite toy!) and a bunch of mini tennis balls and was as happy as could be.

Photo Feb 21, 11 28 43 AM Photo Feb 21, 3 39 42 PM

You may be wondering to yourselves if I (or any humans) ate the puppy cupcakes too.  I’ll fess up–I tried them and I actually really liked them!  I based the recipe off of one for pumpkin bread, omitting the sugar and spices.  I sweetened them with a little honey and I thought they turned out well!  They taste like a bran-pumpkin muffin, and were excellent with a little raspberry jam.

Photo Feb 21, 4 31 22 PM

Pumpkin Pupcakes
makes about 20 mini cupcakes

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup pumpkin puree
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon honey

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and spray a mini cupcake pan with non-stick spray.  In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, egg, vegetable oil, and honey.  Stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture and whisk until combined.  Scoop the mixture into the mini cupcake pan, filling each well almost full.  Bake the pupcakes for 8 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool, and if desired, decorate with Greek yogurt, peanut butter, or whatever your dog loves!

One thought on “Bear’s Birthday: Pumpkin Pupcakes

Leave a Reply

