Cinnamon Quick Bread

Remember a few posts ago when I said a backlog of recipes?  Well, I’m working on it, but I’m only up to Mother’s Day!

2015-05-10 08.54.21

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to be with my mom in person on Mother’s Day (although I did get to see her earlier in the week) but my brother was driving over to my parents’ house so I sent him with a care package, including:

  • Prosecco
  • Strawberries
  • Flowers
  • Cinnamon Quick Bread

2015-05-10 08.53.37

This bread is SO easy to make (one bowl, baby!) and is completely addicting, inspired by this recipe.  You may actually want to eat the entire thing yourself and not send it to your mom.  For my own self-control, I forced myself to NOT slice into it and send my mom the whole loaf.  I knew if I even sliced the tiniest piece off, none of it would make it home!

2015-05-10 08.54.15

Anyway, my mom is AMAZING.

She’s put up with my brother and sister and me through all of our ups and downs and crazy impulse decisions.  Case in point: this happened… “Hi Mom!  I’m starting grad school in three weeks but I just got a dog!”  And not just any dog; this particularly crazy one:

2015-04-21 12.56.50

And of course she supported me through dog number two (probably because, in the interim, I had inspired her to get a wonderful pup of her own!):

2015-04-21 12.55.36

She deserved a lot more than just a loaf of bread, but at least I was able to send her something to show her how much I love her!

Also, note that this bread is not gluten free, but I’m working on converting it to a gluten free recipe!

Cinnamon Quick Bread
makes 1 loaf

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 cup milk (I’ve used both skim and whole)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
Cinnamon sugar, for sprinkling (abut 2 teaspoons cinnamon mixed with about 1/3 cup sugar)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a standard (9 x 5 inch) loaf pan.  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and cinnamon.  Add the vanilla, egg, milk, and vegetable oil and whisk until just combined.  Pour about half of the batter into the loaf pan and sprinkle the top evenly with the cinnamon sugar.  Slowly (and evenly) pour the remaining batter on top of the cinnamon sugar.  Bake the loaf for about 45 to 50 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let the bread cool in the pan for about 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.  Wrap the loaf in foil and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

