Gluten-Free Sugar Cookies

Gluten-free baking is a constant adventure for me.  I love finding experimenting with new recipes or modifying old recipes to make them work as gluten free!

2015-05-27 07.57.04

I was gone for two weeks at a conference in Princeton, New Jersey.  I took a ridiculous amount of silly selfies to send to Dan and my mom while I was gone, and I’ll spare you the brunt of them, but I can’t resist sharing at least one:

2015-05-19 09.04.56

Two weeks is a long time, though!  I missed my puppies SO MUCH!  Thankfully Dan took great care of them and send me about a zillion snapchats of the puppies while I was gone.

2015-05-12 18.02.27 2015-05-12 15.31.40

When I got back, I wanted to do something nice for Dan and I also wanted to do something nice for one of my classmates who worked hard subbing for my class when I was gone.  In my book, something nice = cookies, so I set out to make some delicious gluten free sugar cookies!

2015-05-27 07.57.18

While they were cooking, I made some buttercream frosting, but honestly, the cookies didn’t really need it!  I frosted them anyway, but found that the frosting made them a bit too sweet for my tastes.  Regardless, the cookies have the perfect texture (amazingly chewy) and have a great flavor coming from the vanilla and brown sugar.  No one guessed they were gluten free!

2015-05-27 07.58.09

The ingredients might look a little strange to you (yogurt?!? in cookies?!?) but I promise it turns out wonderfully!

Gluten-Free Sugar Cookies
makes about 25-30 cookies

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup ATK gluten-free flour blend
3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons almond flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum (DO NOT OMIT)
3/4 cup sugar, plus extra for rolling
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
2 heaping tablespoons Greek yogurt
8 tablespoons (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted
1 egg
1 tablespoon vanilla

Whisk together the flour, almond flour, baking powder, soda, salt, and xanthan gum, and set aside.  In a medium bowl, mix together the sugars, Greek yogurt, and melted butter until mostly combined.  Whisk in the egg and vanilla until smooth.  Using a rubber spatula, stir in the flour mixture until well-combined and you have a soft dough. Cover the dough with plastic and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees,  Roll the dough into balls, about 1.5 – 2 tablespoons each, and roll each ball in white sugar.  Place the cookies on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper or a silicon mat, and gently press each cookie to about 1/2 inch thickness.  Sprinkle the tops of the cookies with a pinch more sugar and bake for 8 – 10 minutes, until the edges are just beginning to brown.  Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

If desired, frost with a simple vanilla buttercream.  Store the cookies in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

